Welcome to the #1 Dodge, Jeep and RAM Forum dedicated to FCA owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the SRT Forum today!

Flex fuel guys

white1

9 Second Best E/T
Member ID
Reactions
City
Prairieville
State
LA
Country
United States
Vehicle
2020 hellcat charger widebody
I'm fairly new to the hellcat platform, but have tuned several 5.7/6.4 cars and trucks and a couple of 3.6 trucks.

Anyway, I'm dabbling into a flex fuel tune for my car. I reached out to another tuner from HPT forum to help get me started and am trying to make headway. I understand fuel maps need to be perfect for the inferred flex to work properly, and I believe this is where my issue is based, but not 100% sure as to what's going on.

With the flex patch installed, I started the car and let idle in the shop and alcohol percentage was at 9.4% or somewhere around there (my memory isn't perfect)
I backed out the shop, and it went to 13%, drove home and it came up to about 30.5% it remained there for a while. A couple of days later I stopped and filled up and left the car running and the log going. When I got back in the car, it was showing 10.5% alcohol. Drove a few days went to the race track, and filled up on the way home. Was still reading about 10.5%, but after filling up, its been swinging between about 10.5 up to 40 back to 30.5 and now down to about 20.4

My long term fuel trims are at 0.00 logging my injector fuel mass vs pulse width is such a small correction that when I try to correct the fuel mass, it doesn't even change (-0.36%)

I really dont have much problem going strictly e85, however would prefer to go flex for any rare occasion when the e85 pump is down, or if I'm on a trip and cant find e85. Not to mention to just learn exactly how it operates for my knowledge.