Welcome to the #1 Dodge, Jeep and RAM Forum dedicated to FCA owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the SRT Forum today!

REDEYE: Driving Observations. Air fuel ratios. Tranny shift -ability.

coolblue

1000 Posts Club
Founding Member
Donating Member
Member ID
Reactions
City
Long Island
State
NY
Country
United States
Vehicle
2019 Redeye
I was driving the other day to put some break in miles on the RE. While I was futsi'n around with the tabs, knobs, and diff modes ( I'm still learning to use all this stuff, I literally don't know what half the sh&^ does or works). I noticed the A/F ratio was what seamed real rich to me , 13.6 -13.7. Now mind you I was babying this thing like and old lady, Steady 60-70 highway and absolute speed limit on side roads and traffic at 30 -40mph. I have a 6.1 that is totally stock except a Magnuson blower tuned by AJ (i.e. hemituner). Now when that motor is not on boost the A/F gauge reads 14.5 -14.7 which is perfect stoichiometric for mileage. When you hit it, it immediately drops to like 11 or less. What I'm asking is ,no matter if the motor is 600hp or 800hp if the motor is not under load why would it need that rich a mixture?
Next Observation: I do not like the tranny in street mode at all. It shifts real slushy. I like it in sport mode much better. (BUT you can't put it in sport mode with 500HP setting which I think makes no sense at all). I drove one other RE before buying mine and it drove the same way in street mode.
Any thoughts or opinions for this RE newbie?

EricG

1000 Posts Club
Premium Account
10 Second Best E/T
Member ID
Reactions
City
Albuquerque
State
NM
Country
United States
Vehicle
'19 Hellcat Redeye